RSS

He is our home: another Pilgrim thought

25 Apr

Psalm 90-91 
“Through all generations, you have been our home.”

We weren’t too long into our pilgrimage when Penelope said it for the first time. “I want my bed” or sometimes “I want my home.” The “my” was especially heartbreaking as homesickness filled her little body. I would utter something like “we are your home” or “we’ll be home in a few days.” Three and a half weeks was long for me so I can only imagine what it felt like for a two year old. 

Moses and the Israelites knew what it was like to be away from home. In fact they knew what it was to have no home. They had word that a new home was ahead. They had hope. They had a longing for what was ahead. It was a home given by the Lord. But more than that, Moses here proclaims that their home has always been a person, namely, the Lord. I was right! Home was more about a person and not a location. It’s nice to feel right every now and then. 

I think about the heartbreak I felt for Penelope and how I felt her heart in the longing for home. It made me wonder about that feeling towards God. He is our home after all. 

There are days of sickness or bad experiences that make me not like where I’m at. In those moments I think I long as Penelope longed, “I want my home.” I long to be in the presence of the Lord. This is not simply a longing for death of this world but a longing for him now in my current reality. I long to experience him in gladness and goodness as these Psalms proclaim. I desire and long for his love to overwhelm me. It is there, under his wing that I know, no matter, that I am good and that I am safe. 

In ways, being homesick or having rotten days is good. It is then that I can lean into the presence and love of God. The only problem is that my understanding is sometimes like a two year old. Place is comfort. Routine and familiarity is home. And that home can feel a great distance away. But again, like a two year old, a good hug and some time enjoying life together allows presence and love be our home. Let’s face it, we all need a good hug from time to time and if you’re me, it’s probably more often than not. Life and the enemy can get us down, let’s embrace the presence of God. He is our home. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 25, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment