RSS

Perspective and Hope

08 Mar

My sabbatical started 12:00 midnight march 7th. 12:05 my flight left for Aruba. No, not a vacation though I plan to take advantage. My goal and plan is perspective. 

Technically this is not my first international trip, nor my first missions trip. But, it is the first trip to another continent. Big picture has shaped who I am. I desire he ability to think purpose and kingdom but sometimes the regular rythym doesn’t allow for out of box thinking. 

So here I am, working in a small church in Aruba. The ironic thing is my first full day included IT work, not so out of the ordinary. So far, here is my perspective change: 

Culture isn’t a barrier. I mean, it is if one is insecure. But while people speak different dialects of Chinese and Papiamento all around me, I am strangely ok not knowing what’s all being said. Even in the prayer meeting it didn’t matter what language.  Most know English here so that helps but even so, talking with a gentleman today, we had such common ground to talk about. From politics to country comparison to religion(not even a Christian). 
I admit I have been fearful of working in a Chinese church. Fearful of not having a connection. But we are people. The best place to begin was a prayer meeting. They talked of their struggles and praises, economic struggle and sickness.  God loves all nations. Scripture says he desires that all nations would come to him(Haggai & 1 Tim). I don’t think we get past the prejudice until we are face to face and life to life together. In the end I felt the urge to share a deep prayer request. They cared and loved me. 

I have hope hope that God wants to show me perspective. I don’t know it all and need to see more. This is just the start… but it’s a good one. And this island rocks. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 8, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment